top of page

Amanda East

BSc Chemistry, DePaul University


PhD Student in Chemistry (Organic Chemistry)

Beckman Institute Graduate Fellow



7. Bandyopadhyay S, Zhao Z, East AK, Tapia Hernandez R, Forzano JA, Shapiro BA, Yadav AK, Swartchick CB, Chan J.* An activity-based nitric oxide-responsive porphyrin for site-selective and nascent cancer ablation. ACS Appl. Mater. Interfaces, 2024, ASAP.


6East AK, Lee MC, Chang J, Sikander Q, Chan J. Biomimetic approach to promote cellular uptake and enhance photoacoustic properties of tumor-seeking dyes. J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2023, 145, 7313–7322.

5. Rathnamalala CSL, Hernandez S, Lucero MY, Swartchick CB, Shaik AK, Hammer NI, East AK, Gwaltney SR, Chan J, Scott CN. Xanthene-based nitric oxide-responsive nanosensor for photoacoustic imaging in the SWIR window. Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2023, e202214855.

4. East AK, Lee MC, Smaga LP, Jiang C, Mallojjala SC, Hirschi JS, Chan J. Synthesis of silicon-substituted hemicyanines for multimodal SWIR imaging. Org. Lett. 2022, 24, 8509–8513.

3. Lucero MY, East AK, Chan J. Near-infrared II photoacoustic probes for nitric oxide sensing. Methods in Enzymology, 2021, 657, 157-180. 

2. Lucero MY, East AK, Reinhardt CJ, Sedgwick AC, Su S, Lee MC, Chan J. Development of NIR-II photoacoustic probes tailored for deep-tissue sensing of nitric oxide. J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2021, 143, 7196–7202.

1. East AK, Lucero MY, Chan J. New directions in activity-based sensing for in vivo near-infrared imaging. Chem. Sci. 2021, 12, 3393-3405.

Select Awards

11. Murawski Mentoring Award (2023) 

10. Fuson Travel Award (2022) 

9. Pines Travel Award (2022) 

8. Robert A. and Eleanor L. Flinn Travel Award (2022) 

7. UIUC Women Chemist Committee Travel Award (2021)

6. Peixin He and Xiaoming Chen Graduate Fellowship (2021)

5. DuPont Science and Engineering Fellowship (2020)

4. Department of Chemistry Teaching Excellence Fellowship (2019)

3. Virginia Bartow Scholar (2018)

2. ACS Organic Chemist of the Year (2018)

1. DePaul University Dean's Undergraduate Summer Fellowship (2016)

bottom of page