top of page
MicrosoftTeams-image (2).png

Dr. Adam Sedgwick

MChem in Chemistry for Drug Discovery, University of Bath, U.K.

PhD in Organic Chemistry, University of Bath, U.K.

Select Publications

8. Lucero MY, East AK, Reinhardt CJ, Sedgwick AC, Su S, Lee MC, Chan J. Development of NIR-II photoacoustic probes tailored for deep-tissue sensing of nitric oxide. J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2021, 143, 7196–7202.

7. Sedgwick AC, Yan, KC, Mangel DN, Shang Y, Steinbrueck A, Han H-H, Brewster II JT, Hu X-L, Snelson DW, Lynch VM, Tian H, He X-P, Sessler JL. Deferasirox (ExJade): An FDA-Approved AIEgen with Unique Photophysical Properties Therapeutic Properties. J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2021, 143 (3), 1278–1283

6. Sedgwick AC, Wu T, Feng X, Sessler JL, James TD, Anslyn EV, Sun X. Indicator Displacement assays (IDA): The past, present and future.  Chem. Soc. Rev. 2021, 50, 9-38. (Front cover)

5. Chai X, Han H-H, Sedgwick AC, Li N, Zang Y, Zhang J, Yu Y, Li Y, Wang Y, Li J, He X-P, Tian H. A photochromic fluorescent probe/HSA Strategy for the STORM-based imaging of an enzyme-based biomarker. J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2020, 142 (42), 18005–18013.

4. Ren Y, Sedgwick AC, Chen J, Thiabaud G, Chau CV, An J, Arambula JF, He X-P, Kim JS, Sessler JL, Liu C. Manganese(II) Texaphyrin: A paramagnetic photoacoustic contrast agent activated by near-IR light. J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2020, 142, 16156–16160.

3. Sedgwick AC, Dao W-T, Jiao J-B, Wu L, Williams GT, Jenkins ATA, Bull SD, Sessler JL, He XP, James TD. An ESIPT probe for the ratiometric imaging of peroxynitrite facilitated by binding to Aβ-aggregates. J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2018, 140, 14267-14271.

2. Sedgwick AC, H-H. Han, J. E. Gardiner, S. D. Bull, X-P. He and T. D. James. The development of a novel AND logic-based fluorescence probe for the detection of peroxynitrite and GSH. Chem. Sci., 2018, 9, 3672-3676.


1. Sedgwick AC, Chapman RSL., Gardiner JE, Peacock LR, Kim G, Yoon J, Bull SD, James TD, A bodipy based hydroxylamine sensor. Chem. Commun. 2017, 53, 10441-10443.

Select Awards

3. Glasstone Research Fellowship, University of Oxford (2021)

2. Pump Prime Award Children’s Brain Tumour Drug Delivery Consortium (2020)

1. ABTA Doctoral Research Award (2018)                

bottom of page